RSS

Steampunked Sony Headphones

24 Nov
Steampunked Sony Headphones

My latest creation is a pair of Steampunk headphones. I wanted them to sound good so I started with Sony MDR-XB300 Extra Bass Stereo Headphones , you can see a picture of the original headphones below, also I liked the leather cushioned ear pads. I cut off the headband leaving only the ear pieces and created the rest from findings, various wire, and leather. They look big on the skull but they fit well and are very comfortable. I’m working on a matching Steampunk wrist cuff to hold my Ipod Nano and will be posting that soon. Thanks for looking and commenting.

AJL

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2012 in 3D Design

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Steampunked Sony Headphones

  1. dlongwing

    June 6, 2013 at 1:07 am

    First off, these are gorgeous.

    I’ve been plodding my way through the design of a steampunk surround sound headphone, but progress is slow.

    I’m curious, can you give any more details about the headband’s construction? What kind of wire did you use? I’d imagine that a headband would need something springy, which rules out common modeling wire.

     
    • ajldesign

      June 8, 2013 at 1:53 am

      Hello, thank you for your complement and the comment. I used wire from a clothes hanger to form the main structure of the headband then I used leather and wrapping wire. Hope this helps.

       

Leave a Reply

 
